top of page



Satin Nickel began as a collaboration between Morgan Hollingsworth (vocals, guitar, mandolin) and Samantha Aneson (vocals, guitar, banjo), two songwriters who met while studying theater at the University of California, Irvine.  They began writing together after relocating to NYC and found a musical spark, writing a collection of songs ranging in styles from Folk to Blues to Indie. Combining Morgan’s aggressive approach to the Americana narrative with Samantha’s sentimental and introspective approach to folk music, they found their contrasting styles complemented each other, forming a powerful dichotomy.  Smooth as satin, hard as nickel. Folk and rock. Aggressive and sensitive. Progressive and reflective.

In the winter of 2018, they met fellow theater artists Nikola Balac (drums) and Ariana Karp (cello), and after a few months of rehearsing, they recorded their debut self-titled EP and began playing venues all around Brooklyn and NYC.  Adding bassist Andrew Shewaga to the group, Satin Nickel became a full-bodied quintet and recorded their first full-length album, Shadow of Doubt, which will be released in April of 2020.  Their sound has been described as “Dreamy Americana” and "folk with an edge."  A&R Factory described Satin Nickel’s first single “Just Keep Running” as “a polished, progressively momentous approach to Americana Folk” with their fusion of folk and blues with ambient effects and textures.  Being mostly comprised of theater artists, Satin Nickel gives the essence of a traveling troupe of storytellers and balladeers, imbuing the listener with the emotional imagery of an unplanned, but ultimately fulfilling road trip through America.

bottom of page